No Regrets?

As John Lennon put it, “life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”

Yes, this line is a bit cliché. Although, the more I think about it, the more I’m realizing that this is true.

I’m a bit hesitant to write about anything too personal. Blogging can tread the thin line between ‘insightful/personal anecdote’ and diary entry. I don’t want this to be a diary, so I’ll attempt to keep it brief.

I think it’s funny how when you’re little, you have this fantasy of what you want to be when you “grow up”, how many kids you want to have, how old you want to be when you get married, what your house will look like, etc. Okay, this might be a girl thing.. but it just feels like everything will fall into place one day.

Little do you know – it’s not that easy.

When I was younger I was madly in love with Adam Sandler, I know.. weird. So obviously things change.

I also wanted to be a teacher. Never thought to expand on this, and decide what I would teach. My answer would always be the grade that I was in at the time, or “anything but math!” Then I graduated high school and realized I never wanted to go back. I didn’t have a bad experience, it just seemed like a boring path to take. We also have no real knowledge about careers when we’re young. We just kind of know what our parents do, what we see in movies.. how can we decide what ‘we want to do with our lives?’

I was aware of Cre Comm right out of high school but decided to follow my friends and go to the University of Manitoba. University 1 was the answer to all of our confusion wasn’t it? Well, it left me feeling more unsure than anything. I don’t regret it, I learned a lot. (Gender is a made up concept, anyone?)

University just wasn’t the right place for me at that time.

So that glorious discouragement and overall boredom with life drove me to work in Belgium. Long story short, I came home and desperately planned to move there – permanently… so, I devoted my life to studying French that whole year.

Oui, je suis fou. Je sais.

That changed, of course, but led me to study in Montréal which turned out to be an amazing experience. One that never would have happened if I didn’t become obsessed with French. (I also aspire to live there now.) 😉

Of course there are things we regret. I wish I could go back in time and tell myself to wear my retainer, not cut/dye my hair, save my money, put more effort into relationships and exercise more than a few times a year.

My point is: everyday decisions may seem trivial, but everything we do and everyone we meet are helping to lead us in a certain direction.

I like to believe that anyway.

If I applied to Cre Comm right after high school I wouldn’t have been ready or with the amazing group I’m with now.

Each period of our lives; our childhood, high school, party phases, time in college, etc. is a small chapter that is crucial to experience. People come and go. Some people may be incredibly important to us at certain points, and then a year later you may barely speak. It’s normal to drift away from people (you had your time that you will always remember), and realize you’ll stay in touch with those who make you feel good.

SUNSET ENDING: It’s easy to think of the past as better than it was, and hold unattainable expectations for the future. We can try to guide things to a certain degree, but so many variables are beyond our control. Just enjoy every day.

“Everything is okay in the end. If it’s not okay, then it’s not the end.” – Dr. Seuss

Download: Don’t Let the Man Get You Down – Fatboy Slim

3 thoughts on “No Regrets?

Leave a Reply

