Django Unchained

I’m a huge huge HUGE Quentin Tarantino fan. Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, and Inglourious Basterds are some of my favourite movies. I think he is a brilliant director, but I’m having a hard time deciding how I feel about his latest film, Django Unchained. It’s definitely in tune with his style of excessive violence and latest aim to “rewrite history”.  Despite a few criticisms, I think the film does a good job of illustrating how horrible and inhumane slavery was. (Although, that’s not too hard.)

I’ve also been following the gun debate in America and am curious if the tragedy in Newtown will prompt any change.  I can’t decide if this movie came out at a perfect time, or at a horrible time.  I think a lot of people are very sensitive right now and certain scenes can be difficult to watch. Although, at the same time people are hyper aware of the issue and will have a visual that further proves how terrifying guns are.  The movie got to the point where it was painful to watch, the violence was too much and I kept imagining the kids of Connecticut.. a lot of people even left the theatre. In response to criticism about the level of violence in the film, Tarantino had this to say:

“What happened during slavery times is a thousand times worse than [what] I show,” he says. “So if I were to show it a thousand times worse, to me, that wouldn’t be exploitative, that would just be how it is. If you can’t take it, you can’t take it.” (http://www.npr.org/2013/01/02/168200139/quentin-tarantino-unchained-and-unruly)

If you see the movie, there is a point where it could of and should have ended in my opinion; yet it doesn’t. Especially with Quintin writing himself a small part, where he attempts an Australian accent? It just goes downhill from that point, you’ll see.

Don’t get me wrong, the movie itself was quite good. Potentially Oscar worthy I’d say. Christoph Waltz, Tarantino’s German muse made the movie for me, with his wit and unique way of speaking.  He plays a bounty hunter who kills ‘bandits’, wanted people in exchange for a reward. In fulfilling this type of work he seeks the help of Django, (Jamie Foxx) a slave who knows what his latest targets look like.  The plot then carefully unfolds mixing their new found partnership with a German fairy tale/search for Django’s estranged wife/Mandingo fighting/exploring Candy Land- Leonardo DiCaprio’s million dollar ranch.  Overall, Django Unchained is entertaining but a bit dragging at times. The actors all give great performances, and there are even funny parts which bring a sense of humanity to the characters.

If you saw it, let me know what you think.

Download: Who did that to you? – John Legend

Leave a Reply

